top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureChild of Christmas

Me before you series



Me before you was the first book from Jojo Moyes that I was reading. It was in times when I just started reading books and this was the book that I read before watching the movie. The story really caught my heart and it stayed there until the last Christmas when Santa gave me the next two books: After you and Still me.


I'll try to not write about the contents of these books but about the most important thoughts in each one and about the feelings they gave me and what have I learned from them.



Me before you

Me before you is a really unusual love story about Louisa Clark and Will Traynor. They live in a Great Britain town and the whole story have kind of British tone. The most important thing in this book for me was that I already understand the thoughts of the invalid man who can't move, can't eat himself, can't go to toilet himself, can't make his children and basically can't live alone. I already understand how it is when you are really sick and how just small thing can everything change and you have no idea how did it happen. I already understand how important is to be thankful for your health and life and how hard it is to let someone just go. The book also shows me that love isn't selfish and love isn't about owning each other. I recommend reading this book in spring or summer even when it doesn't have any special ''summer vibe''. I took it for my vacation two years ago.




After you


The second part of the Me before you series is book After you. I think everyone who read books knows that feeling after finishing the book when you need more. And this is was my case too. And after two years later my wish realized. But the second part was absolutely different than the first one. Louisa Clark is a different person and pretty much everything is different. Different city, characters, problems, perspective, and different love. This book shows us how hard it is to live with emptiness in your heart, but it also shows us the secrets of people Lou loved. The story isn't ending, it's continuing in different dimensions. I learned how stupid things we can do as teenagers and also that some things aren't as they look like. In this book, I already felt that feeling when you want to scream to the characters because of their stupidity and you want to say them to don't do that thing!




Still me

And lastly, book Still me. This book came up just last year and I think Jojo Moyes has done it absolutely perfect. The book again shows us a different kind of love: a long-distance relationship. Many staff from the past also came back as old relationships, hobbies, plans, work, and everything is different but basically the same. Louisa's wold is now full of secrets, lies, and truths. New relationships are growing and some of the old ones are breaking. And what caught my heart mostly? Well, probably that I understand how relationships work in "the world of adults" and how it can be hard to let each other go to make their dreams and ambitions come true. And how different we can be, but still love each other and respect each other. Sometimes, all we need is to believe your partner.




So what would I say if someone will ask me if it is worth to read this series?


Absolutely it does! These books are full of important things that are happening in our lives every day and sometimes we just don't see them. We can learn so much about love, trust, and relationships. 100% recommended!






15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page