top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureChild of Christmas

Croatia 2018

I spend one week of summer break in Croatia last year. When we were booking our vacation with my family and friends, I wasn't too excited. I've been in Croatia for about 8 times and we use to visit the same places all the time. I wanted to visit Italy, cause I've been there only once, but my parents didn't agree. So I said to myself: ''what's up? It will be better this time because you'll be there with your friends too, not just with your family.''

So even I wasn't too excited about this trip, I kind of thought it will be great.

And truly, it was actually!


My favourite photo from Croatia!

Our road was really long. We were leaving Slovakia at about 12 AM and we came to Croatia at about 1 PM. After we checked in, we went right to the restaurant for lunch. Actually, it was my first time trying gnocchi!



This is basically how I eat on trips xD

We came back to our apartment, change our clothes and get ready for a little walk around the beach. We went to the centre of Vodice too. We took a little bus and we set on the end, so we were basically going back. I was sitting next to my friend and we had so much fun. Some people wave on us from the card and laugh. We saw the whole centre, so we knew where to go later.



The worst quallity selfie ever

The next day was really windy and dark, so we spend the whole morning at our apartment. Thankfully, the weather looked better in the afternoon, but the water was still cold. So we decided to go on a little trip to the near city of Sibenik. If you're a GoT fan, you might know, that it was filming in this place too. Not so much as in Dubrovnik, but I was pretty much excited too.



My first view on Sibenik


There's a long and really high bridge near the city where you can do a bungee jump too. I was trying to reserve it, but you need to think about it earlier. We went around the bay to the centre and we found some pretty places like a big church and a small square behind it. Then we come by some really thin streets to the ruins of the castle, where we enjoyed an amazing view of the bay.





We bought tickets and went on the very top of the castle. It was so windy there and I must hold my skirt down. But the view was actually so much better.




When we came home, we had dinner and then we were just chilling and making fun with our doggie.


Our third day was a big rest. We were on the beach the whole day. For me was the see too cold and I didn't want to go swimming. I went to a walk with my dog and I lost myself a little bit because I turned to the wrong street, so I range along Vodice.



Later in the afternoon, I was running and I almost came to the nearest village. I saw a big cloud of smoke. It was a fire somewhere. I was a little bit scared, but my endorphins change the whole situation.




When I came back to the beach, where was my family, I threw all my clothes away and jump right to the water. I was running in shorts and a shirt and I have a swimsuit underneath. The water was still cold, but I didn't care anymore. My friend joins too and we swim across the whole line for swimmers. After a golden hour, we went to the centre again and enjoy time with some ice cream.



When you want to have a nice picture but guys behind you don't

The fourth day looked almost the same: beach, town, run and swim. I was already boring, and I was looking for some adventure. We wanted to go to the cinema first on a Mamma Mia 2. My parents speak Croatian, so they could read titles, and I understand English and a little bit Croatian too. But they don't really want to.



We were sitting on the balcony and I just said: "Let's go to the see!" But everyone was like "are you crazy or something?" instead of my friend's dad which was like: "Okay let's go!" So I came to the room where was my friend and told him to put on his swimsuit and I did as well. We came to the beach and it was already dark (around 10 PM). I ran to the sea and the water was freezing! But we had so much fun. Our mums were yelling at us all the time like: "You will be sick! Come out!" but we just didn't care. We were freezing so much later when we came back and we spent the whole night underneath two blankets. But we were joking a lot and laughing a lot. This was one of the best nights.





Let's make a little food gallery. I enjoyed almost all of my breakfasts and dinners on my balcony and of course, I've must take many photos of it.



I hope that your mouth waters already. But this is not the end. We're just starting because we went to the Primosten next day. It's a small town where Mamma Mia was filming too. This town is full of little houses with light blue doors and windows. It looks amazing.



We took some photos near the palm and we went on the beach. It was a golden hour so it looks incredible.




This sea is the most beautiful sea I've ever seen. The water was almost as an ombre. Fifty shades of the sea.


We came across the whole beach to the little church. It was probably the highest point of the town. We saw a museum of little steal figures. They were mechanized so they were moving and it looked like they're dancing.




The next day was already our last day. We went to the market in the morning to buy some fresh fruit and vegetable and also to the bakery for some bread.



We were on the beach the whole day but in the afternoon we went to a different beach, just me and my friend to take some pictures. It was a beach between Vodice and the other village and there weren't so many people.



After dinner, we went to the centre for the last time to say bye to our ice cream man and this town too. The ice cream man was a guy from the ice cream stand. He always gave me and my mum one ice cream ball free. We bought some fruit too and we had so much fun on our way home because we came along the beach and there were some platforms on the sea. People usually use it for sunbathing, but they were empty in the night, so we decided to try out our parkour skills on them and we jumped over them. Actually, there were big holes between them sometimes.



We came back to our apartment and our younger siblings made a little "party" for us. It was pretty embarrassing, but we had so much fun dancing in old songs. And this was the last night in Croatia. Next day we packed our suitcases and went home.



Our amazing apartment



PS: While I was eating on my balcony, our host's cat was trying to be a Tarzan.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page